Dorian Sono Luminus Logo TM Dorian Sono Luminus Logo TM

Dorian Sono Luminus




DSL-90701 Cover 51st Grammy Award logo TM

This recording has been nominated for a Grammy Award in the Best Classical Crossover Album category.

his unique recording of Ronn McFarlane's original music composed for the Lute, enables Indigo Road to bridge the gap between traditional and modern music.

Historically the lute player and the composer of lute music were one and the same.   Many of the new pieces on Indigo Road tread the line between popular, folk, new age and classical music.   Some of the works draw heavily on Renaissance and Baroque styles, while others are expressed in a completely modern musical idiom.

All of the compositions were originally conceived as solos, however McFarlane adds parts for bass, flute, harp, percussion, cittern, harmonium and string quartet to several of the tunes, in order to heighten individual mood and character.

McFarlane has made a recording of very accessible music as he stays true to the title song, Indigo Road, which signifies a spiritual path or the road we take through life.   The pieces take the listener down aural roads from one composition to the next: from the peaks of Denali, to Pinetops, into a storming sky in Blue Norther and across Uncharted Waters … we are transported to the future through dreams and left feeling wistful and nostalgic as if remembering the distant past.

Lute - Ronn McFarlane
Bass - James Blachly
Flute and Harp - Mindy Rosenfeld     
Percussion - Danny Mallon
Cittern - Mark Cudek
Harmonium - Bela Nachtigall
First Violin - Rowell Jao
Second Violin - Erin Freund
Viola - Jason Diggs
Cello - April Angilletta
  1. Cathedral Cave     3:57
  2. Indigo Road     3:14
  3. Denali     4:18
  4. Overland     3:48
  5. Pinetops     2:43
  6. Blue Norther     4:31
  7. Chocolate Factory     3:43
  8. Rosa     3:23
  9. Uncharted Waters     4:05
10. Sycamore     4:25
11. Dowland's Goodnight     2:12
12. Early Christmas Morning     1:59
13. Gigue     1:50
14. Thistleheart     3:36
15. Over the Green Earth     2:53
16. Augusta     3:17

      Total Time     54:05

Dorian Recordings & Dorian Discovery
are distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading