Dorian Recordings Logo TM Dorian Recordings Logo TM

Dorian Recordings


ANTONÍN DVORÁK (1841-1904)
Complete Music for Violin and Piano

Ivan Ženatý, Violin
Antonin Kubalek, Piano

DOR-90171 Cover - 21848 Bytes It is rather surprising that Dvorák did not reserve a more prominent place for the violin in his oeuvre, even though the violin was the first instrument he learned to play (similarly, although he was an accomplished organist, he wrote no music specifically for the pipe organ).   His compositions for violin, indeed, are neither numerous, nor unfortunately do they occupy a favoured position in the concert repertoire.   The reason might be that in these works the violin is rarely given the opportunity to indulge in dazzling displays of virtuoso fireworks.   In this particular repertoire, the performer is required to concentrate his efforts on a type of expression that is directly and seemingly simple, yet calls for a high degree of technical expertise and control.   For all their easy charm and tunefulness, several of these works - were they better known - could justly lay claim to being considered touchstones of every violinist's interpretive skills.
- Antonin Kubalek and Ivan Ženatý

Four Romantic Pieces, Op. 75
[1] Allegro moderato
[2] Allegro maestoso
[3] Allegro appassionato
[4] Larghetto

Sonata in F Major, Op. 57
[5] Allegro, ma non troppo
[6] Poco sostenuto
[7] Allegro molto
Sonatina in G Major, Op. 100
[8] Allegro risoluto
[9] Larghetto
[10] Scherzo:Molto vivace
[11] Finale: Allegro

[12] Ballad in D Minor, Op. 15/I

[13] Mazurek in E Minor, Op. 49

Dorian Recordings & Dorian Discovery
are distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading