Dorian Recordings Logo TM Dorian Recordings Logo TM

Dorian Recordings



Andrew Rangell, Piano

DOR-90143 Cover - 19445 Bytes The last five sonatas, like the last five string quartets which they anticipate, stand profoundly apart, as a group, from all before them.   On a formal level, radical new features distinguish and define these works: new types and configuration of movements; exploration of alternating and overlapping segments within movements; a transfiguring synthesis of fugal and of variation forms with that of the sonata; and finally, a limit-extending reconstituting of the sonata form itself.   On another level, that of language, strange wide-spread textures appear, new expressive varieties of trills, and most vitally, the clear and conscious predominance of a polyphonic fabric.
- Andrew Rangell © 1990

Sonata No. 28 in A Major, Op. 101
[1] Etwas lebhaft und mit der innigsten Empfindung
[2] Lebhaft,. Marschmäßig
[3] Langsam und sehnsuchtsvoll
[4] Geschwind, doch nicht zu sehr, und mit Entschlossenheit

Sonata No. 29 in B-Flat Major, Op. 106 "Hammerklavier"
[5] Allegro
[6] Scherzo: Assai vivace
[7] Adagio sostenuto - Largo
[8] Allegro risoluto

Dorian Recordings & Dorian Discovery
are distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading