Dorian Discovery Logo TM Dorian Discovery Logo TM

Dorian Discovery


Piano Works of
Jan Ladislav Dussek

Volume Two
Frederick Marvin, Piano

DIS-80125 Cover - 17904 Bytes Jan Ladislav Dussek was well-known as a composer and pianist throughout the European music world.   All his works were published by leading publishers: Pleyel, Breitkopf & Härtel, Clementi, Dussek & Corri, Boyer etc.   During his lifetime Dussek's repute was so important that the famous Leipzig firm of Breitkopf & Härtel undertook the publication of a twelve volume edition of his complete works.   He was the first composer to write out exact pedal indications and at his request the range of the then existing pianofortes was extended from five octaves to six octaves.   He broke with the tradition of showing the audience the back of the pianist.   He placed the piano sideways, showing the profile of the performer as we do today.   Perhaps this is why he was called "Dussek the Beau".
- Frederick Marvin

Sonata in F minor, Op. 4, No. 3 "L'Amante Disperato" (1787)
[1] Poco presto
[2] Tempo di Menuetto

Grand Sonata in G minor, Op.10, No. 2 (1789)
[3] Grave, Adagio non troppo
[4] Vivace con spirito

Sonata in C minor, Op. 35, No. 3 (1798)
[5] Allegro agitato assai
[6] Adagio patetico ed espressivo
[7] Allegro molto

Sonata in F-sharp minor, Op. 61, "Élégie Harmonique" (1806)
[8] Lento patetico: Tempo agitato, non presto
[9] Tempo vivace e con fuoco quasi presto

Dorian Recordings & Dorian Discovery
are distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading