Chesky Records Logo



David Chesky: piano, Billy Drummond: drums, Javon Jackson: tenor sax and clarinet, Jeremy Pelt: trumpet & Peter Washington: bass

[ Binaural + CD ]

1. Check Point Charlie
2. Cultural Treason
3. Quiet Desperation
4. Kill the Philharmonic
5. Primal Scream
6. Isolation
7. Sleepless in New York

Once again pianist/composer David Chesky courts a dark muse on this second outing by his Jazz in the New Harmonic quintet.   The noirish atmosphere prevails from his first dissonant stabs at the keyboard on the opener, “Check Point Charlie”, to the final moody strains of the closer, “Sleepless in New York”.   This is a different kind of cool jazz, one that grooves along steadily.   Close your eyes and you can fell a fundamental groove-and-riff formula that is not unlike what Eddie Harris was putting down on “Listen Here” or Herbie Hancock on “Cantaloupe Island”.
Part of the Chesky Binaural + Series, all recorded with a single microphone, the band appears right before you with this spacious, lush and multi-dimensional recording. Now headphone users will hear the same three-dimensional sound and imaging as audiophiles have for the past 25 years with Chesky Recordings. Also these new Binaural+ Series albums capture even more spatial realism for the home audiophile market, bringing you one step closer to the actual event. You will hear some of the most natural and pure cool jazz ever recorded.

Chesky Records are distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading