Chesky Records Logo



featuring Willy Rodriguez, Paulo Stagnaro, Gabo Lugo, Marcos Lopez & Oscar Stagnaro

[ Binaural + CD ]

1. The Drum Thang

2. Tunji

3. Kulu sé Mama (Juno sé Mama)

4. Morning
5. Afternoon
6. Evening

7. Tardis de Lindóia

8. Danza Del Pájaro

Recorded with the Chesky Records Binaural style fit for both speakers and headphones, it captures the sound of the musicians playing in great acoustic settings.   And now, starting with the Binaural+ sessions, Chesky records has taken that approach to the next level.
The National Endowment of the Arts' Jazz Master, Dave Liebman, was born in New York City on September 4th, 1946 during a period of change in jazz, one that has yet to be properly documented by even its most noted musicians, writers, filmmakers, and serious academics.   It was a time when Afro-Cuban based dance music and its driving polyrhythms were taking the city, and eventually the country, by storm.   At its epicenter was the Machito Afro-Cubans, a big band led by the amazing multi-instrumentalist (clarinet, alto sax, lead trumpet) Mario Bauzã¡ and his brother-in-law Frank Grillo (Machito).   Thus Afro-Cuban jazz, the first form of Latin jazz, was born and Afro-Cuban percussion would become part of mainstream jazz in America.

With this new work, Dave has added to that history and joined the continuum of Jewish musicians that have contributed to New York City's rich Afro-Latin music culture.   Dave's beautiful flute, tenor, and soprano sax lines soar over the rhythms played by young virtuosic percussionists throughout this beautifully haunting CD.   They provide a cultural context evoking the spirit of John Coltrane.   Particularly in the two opening pieces which were penned by Coltrane and arranged by Dave.   Those, along with the Coltrane cuts, “Danza” and “Tardes”, the three “Ceremony” pieces center around one basic melody adjusted for each of the chosen modes, freely interpreted over odd meter bass and drum lines.

Personel on this session are Dave Liebman on tenor & soprano sax and flute, Willy Rodriguez, drums and percussion, Paulo Stagnaro, percussion, Gabo Lugo, congas and percussion Marcos Lopez, timbales and percussion and Oscar Stagnaro, electric bass.

Part of the Chesky Binaural + Series, all recorded with a single microphone, the band appear right before you with this spacious, lush and multi-dimensional recording.   Now headphone users will hear the same three-dimensional sound and imaging as audiophiles have for the past 25 years with Chesky Records.   These new Binaural+ Series albums capture even more spatial realism for the home audiophile market, bringing you one step closer to the actual event.   You will hear some of the most natural and pure vocals ever recorded.

Chesky Records are distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading