Chesky Records Logo



[ Binaural + CD ]
01. Stank     4;41
02. Wood and Metal     3:35
03. War     5:46
04. The Wind     4:53
05. Seven     5:37
06. Tranquility     4:31
07. Groove     5:10
08. Phrases     2:41
09. Long Distance     5:30
10. Rhythm     6:23
11. Roots     7:18

On "Seven" Mark Sherman plays drums
and Lenny White plays tympani, vibes and percussion

Lenny White, drummer from Return to Forever, joins sought after world percussionist Jamey Haddad and classical percussionist Mark Sherman for the most unique Drum and Percussion session ever recorded.   Funk meets worid, meets classical music!   Completely improvised these three percussionists were able to create a masterpiece without prior rehearsal and having never played with each other until this recording.   A truly astonishing feat!
This high-energy recording demonstrates true musicianship and the ability to work cohesively in order to produce a percussive jazz album to end all jazz albums.   The effervescent shadings ofthe vibes, large and small drums, and brilliant tympani combined perfectìy to design this eclectic album.   While listening to these masters ofpercussion, you can genuinely hear them having fun and exploring the uses of their instruments.

Explorations in Space and Time was recorded with a Neumann KU-100 binaural microphone that was implanted within a “dummy” head's ear canals, thus picking up sound images as heard by the average person. When played over a high quality, full-size system or headphones, the binaural adaptation provides a stunningly accurate 3D reproduction of the originai sound field.   Chesky Records introduces its new Binaural+ Series.

Binaural sound has been around for a quite some rime; however, until now it was simply for headphones and couid not be enjoyed over speakers.   Our Binaural+ Series recordings sound great on both headphones and speakers, capturing the sound in a way that allows you to enjoy the music as if you were sitting in front ofthe musicians themselves.   The Binaural+ Series sessions were recorded in high-resolution 192-kHz/24-bit sound with a special Binaural head (a “dummy” human head with specially calibrated microphones for ears).

These new Binaural+ Series albums capture more spatial realism for the home audiophile market, bringing you one step closer to the actual event   Now headphone and speaker users will hear the same three-dimensional sound and imaging as audiophiles have for the past 25 years with Chesky Recordings.

Jamey Haddad: Percussion: Left channel

Lenny White: Drums: Center channel

Mark Sherman: Vibraphone & Percussion: Right channel

Chesky Records are distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading