Chesky Records Logo

Multichannel Super Audio CD
Hybrid Disc

The Music of Pink Floyd

Sam Yahel, Mike Moreno, Ari Hoenig, Seamus Blake


  1. Breathe     (6:29)

  2. Part 1 On The Run     (3:43)

  3. Time     (11:00)

  4. Any Colour You Like     (2:18)

  5. The Great Gig In The Sky     (8:42)

  6. Money     (6:49)

  7. Us And Them     (6:23)

  8. Brain Damage     (6:20)

  9. Part 2 On The Run     (3:45)
"…my two cents about the whole jazz standards issue is that I kind of feel as though musicians in the 1960's were doing treatments of music they grew up with or that was their parents' popular music.   And I feel that if I were to carry on in that tradition, I would play something like "Woodstock" rather than than "My Ship" because that's my parents' music or music I might have been exposed to at an impressionable age.
So in terms of covering Pink Floyd, I think it makes sense because this is something I would've been listening to in high school; I wasn't listening to George Gershwin tunes back then, although obviously that music is so rich and textured, it forms a significant aspect of everyone's musical vocabulary - mine included.   Nor are my experiences especially unique; still, I believe that people should do music that's moving for them and their generation and not feel constrained to do something out of a misplaced sense of tradition.

Sam Yahel
This disc contains three separate versions of the same musical program:
• Direct Stream Digital™ Multi-Channel Suround Sound
• Direct Stream Digital™ 2-Channel Stereo
• CD Standard Stereo

Chesky Records are distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading