Chesky Records Logo

MQA logo TM



[MQA JD115]

[ Master Quality Authenticated CD ]
1. Kalerka
2. The Witch
3. The Raven
4. You Need Me There
5. Grandmother
6. You Got Me
7. Heart and Mind
  8. Her Man Leaves Town
  9. Seven Hours
10. Wendy's Style Shop
11. The Height of Land
12. Spanish Harlem
13. Remember Me
Rebecca Pidgeon, vocals, guitar - Joel Diamond, piano
Anthony Coote, guitar, background vocals - George Naha, guitar
Mitch Margold, synthesizer - David Finck, bass - Gary Burke, percussion
Coco Kallis, back up vocals - Paul Miller, back up vocals
Elise Morris, back up vocals - Juliet Haffner, viola - Erik Friedlander, cello
Laura Seaton, violin - Robert Chausow, violin
“Nuanced and assured, The Raven reveals Rebecca Pidgeon as one of those rare singers who, without guile or fretful virtuosity, conveys emotion purely.” — Rolling Stone
MQA is an award-winning technology that delivers the sound of the studio.   The master MQA file is fully authenticated and is small enough to stream, while also being backward compatible, so you can play MQA music on any device.   Imagine being present at the original studio performance of your favourite recording artist.   Every nuance, every subtlety, every tiny drop of emotion delivered to your ears.   MQA CD plays back on all CD players.   When a conventional CD player is connected to an MQA-enabled device, the CD will reveal the original master quality.

For more information view

Rebecca Pidgeon's classic Chesky debut, featuring her stunning version of “Spanish Harlem.”

Reflective yet contemporary, Rebecca's lovely voice rings with honest, unpretentious confidence and vivid tenderness. While her Celtic melodies set the mood, her lyrics tell stories, full, rich, textured, and open hearted.   This amazing talent makes her U.S. debut with The Raven, a most striking, powerful and fully realized vocal record for Chesky Records.

Recorded February 12th, 14th & 15th 1994 at MasterSound Studios, Queens, NY.   Recorded with minimalist miking techniques and without overdubbing or artificail enhancement to ensure the purest and most natural sound possible.

“… Pidgeon is a clever, surprising songwriter, with a strong command of melody … A major debut and superb recording … a real feast of creativity …” — Jazziz

Chesky Records are distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading