Cala Records Logo TM Cala Records LogogTM


To My Star
Celtic Romances by William Vincent Wallace

Rosemary Tuck - Piano

William Vincent Wallace
The piano music of William Vincent Wallace (1860-1940) enjoyed phenomenal popularity in Australia, America, England, Ireland and Europe during the second half of the 19th century.   His virtuoso piano works, both large and small share a common thread of romance as reflected in the names of his works and dedications, which in turn reflected his personal life.   The music presented on this CD, performed by the highly regarded Australian pianist, Rosemary Tuck, allows us once again to hear the works of this Irish romantic composer; music which so delighted performers and listeners alike during the Victorian era and still has charms to delight us today.   To My Star follows the 2002 release of The Meeting of the Waters, Celtic Fantasies for Piano (Cala Records CACD88042).   Filled with well known Irish and Scottish melodies set for virtuoso piano and also performed by Rosemary Tuck, The Meeting of the Waters is a celebration of the work of William Vincent Wallace.

Rosemary Tuck
Pianist Rosemary Tuck was born in Sydney and studied with John Winther in Canberra, before pursuing advanced studies with Walter Hautzig at the Peabody Conservatory in Baltimore and Andrzej Esterhazy, a pupil of Neuhaus in Moscow.   She represented Australia in a series of recitals in the United States under the auspices of the American-Australian Bicentennial Foundation, including a recital at Carnegie Hall.   She has given recitals in the Sydney Opera House, at the South Bank Centre in London and St John's Smith Square.   She appeared at the Aarhus Festival in Denmark in the presence of Queen Margrethe II.   In 2001 she gave the first official performance in the new William Vincent Wallace Millennium Plaza in Waterford, Ireland. Her recordings include piano music by Liadov and Ketelbey.

William Vincent Wallace (1860-1940)

  1. La Louisiana Waltz     4:14
  2. Music Murmurings in the Trees Romance     6:07
  3. Mazurka-étude     3:26
  4. L'Absence et le Retour Romance suive d'une Grande Polka Brillante     9:09
  5. To My Star A Mon Etoile Romance     3:26
  6. La Rapidité Second Étude de Salon     5:28
  7. La Force Third Étude de Salon     6:46
  8. A Flower of Poland Une Fleur de Pologne Mazurka     3:42
  9. Nocturne Dramatique Grand Nocturne     6:09
10. The Empress L'Imperatrice Waltz     2:36
11. The Shepherd's Lament La Plainte du Berger Idylle     3:50
12. Souvenir of Spain El Nuevo Jaleo de Jerez Danse Nationale     5:50
13. The Bee and the Rose Morceau de Salon     2:03
14. Valse Militaire     3:26
15. La Cracovienne Grand Fantasie and Variatons     11:49

      Total Time     79:00

to Previous CD   Return to Cala Records Listing   to Next CD

Cala Records & Cala United are distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading