Cala Records Logo TM Cala Records LogogTM


Nancy Ambrose King plays oboe concertos
Janácek Philharmonic ~ Jeremy Swerling conductor

Ranging from a rediscovered work by Mozart to a rarely recorded gem by Eugene Goossens, the pieces on this disc display the wealth and variety of music for solo oboe and orchestra.   Concertos by Goossens, Vaughan Williams and Martinü embody the musical character and new heights of lyricism and virtuosity which the oboe has achieved over the past eighty years or so, while making fascinating companions for Mozart's brilliance.   Many older masterpieces, including the Mozart Oboe Concerto, only came truly to prominence during the twentieth century, brightening and broadening the repertoire of the instrument.   Indeed, were it not for modern scholarship there would be much less fine music for oboe available today from the Baroque, Classical and even the early Romantic periods.

Nancy Ambrose King won the Third New York International Competition for Solo Oboists.   She has appeared as soloist with such orchestras as the Janacek Philharmonic in Ostrava, the Festival Internacionale de Musica Orchestra in Buenos Aires, the New York String Orchestra, the Sinfonia da Camera (Illinois), the Champaign-Urbana Symphony and the American Academy of Music in Rome.   She has been heard on WQXR Radio in New York City and NPR's Performance Today.   She is currently Associate Professor of Oboe at the University of Michigan and First Vice-President of the International Double Reed Society.


MOZART Oboe Concerto in C, K.314 20:49
1   i. Allegro aperto 7:36
2   ii. Adagio non troppo 7:10
3   iii. Rondo: Allegretto 6:03

4   GOOSSENS Oboe Concerto in One Movement 11:52

VAUGHAN WILLIAMS Concerto for Oboe and Strings in A minor 18:32
5   i. Rondo Pastorale 7:24
6   ii. Minuet and Musette 2:33
7   iii. Finale: Scherzo 8:35

MARTINÜ Concerto for Oboe and Small Orchestra 17:18
8   i. Moderato 4:54
9   ii. Poco andante 6:37
10 iii. Poco allegro 5:47

         Total Time 68:66

to Previous CD   Return to Cala Records Listing   to Next CD

Cala Records & Cala United are distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading