Cala Records Logo TM Cala Records LogogTM


Stokowski conducts
Percy Grainger Favourites

In 1949, Stokowski asked Percy Grainger to make brand new orchestral arrangements of some of his most popular pieces for a special recording project, utilising many colourful instruments of the modern orchestra.   Grainger was delighted at the suggestion and also with the finished recording.

He wrote of its “freshness and vigour, never-failing clarity, and exquisite tone colour.”   These seven 1950 Grainger / Stokowski recordings now appear on CD as a complete set for the first time.

Recorded between 1947 and 1953, all tracks make their CD debuts here and are played by Stokowski's own specially-selected orchestra of top New York musicians.

PERCY GRAINGER (1882-1961)
  1 Country Gardens* 1:32
  2 Mock Morris 2:55
  3 Early One Morning 3:30
  4 Shepherd's Hey* 1:36
  5 Irish Tune from County Derry 3:30
  6 Molly on the Shore 3:26
  7 Handel in the Strand* 3:45

SIBELIUS (1865-1957)
  8 Berceuse from The Tempest (arr. Stokowski) 4:59
  9 Valse Triste from Kuolema 4:30

10 Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis 16:03

RACHMANINOV (1873-1943)
11 Vocalise 7:51

GRANADOS (1867-1916)
12 Intermezzo from Goyescas (arr. Otto Langey) 4:46

DEBUSSY (1862-1918)
13 Clair de Lune (orch. Stokowski) 5:29

IBERT (1890-1962)
Escales (Ports of Call) 14:09
14   I Rome - Palermo 6:29
15  II Tunis - Nefta 2:28
16 III Valencia 5:12

      * Percy Grainger at the piano
      Leopold Stokowski conducts his Symphony Orchestra

      Total Time 77:58

to Previous CD   Return to Cala Records Listing   to Next CD

Cala Records & Cala United are distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading