ACD 2759 Cover

ATMA Classique Logo


Marina Thibeault, viola - Janelle Fung, piano

ACD2 2759

Named “Révélation Radio-Canada 2016-2017,” Marina Thibeault travels the world as an ambassador of the viola.   Contributing to the repertoire of her instrument by commissioning new works is a vital calling for Marina.   For Toquade, contemporary works for solo viola by Canadian composers Ana Sokolovic and Jean Lesage are paired with romantic and modern pieces by Tchaikovsky, Glinka, Kymlicka, Martinù and Hindemith.   She is accompanied by pianist Janelle Fung.

Ms. Thibeault is the recipient of the Sylva Gelber Foundation award (2016).   She won first prize in the string category of Prix d'Europe (2015), the McGill Concerto Competition (2015), and the Radio-Canada “Young Artist” prize (2007), as well a special prize at the Beethoven Hradec International Viola Competition (2008).

Canadian pianist Janelle Fung has performed in concert from coast to coast in Canada, including tours with Prairie Debut and Jeunesses Musicales du Canada.   Ms. Fung has been a prize winner in numerous national and international competitions, including the Joanna Hodges International Piano Competition, the Concours OSM-Standard Life, and the Canadian Music Competition.

• An avid chamber musician, Marina Thibeault has collaborated with members of the Guarneri Quartet, the Cleveland Quartet, and the London Haydn Quartet, among other great chamber musicians.   Her interest in new music has led her to work with composers such as John Corigliano, Joan Tower, Ana Sokolovic, and Krzysztof Penderecki.

• At the age of nine, she was the youngest violin student to enter the Conservatoire de musique de Québec.   She holds a bachelor's degree from the Curtis Institute of Music, where she studied with Michael Tree and Roberto Diaz.

• In order to deepen her studies, Marina Thibeault attended the Conservatorio della Svizzera italiana under the tutelage of Bruno Giuranna, with the support of the Canada Council of the Arts and the Eskas Scholarship.   Marina has recently completed her Master's degree with André Roy at McGill University.

Six Morceaux.op.51
(are. V. Borisovsky / F. Vallières)
  1. n° 6. Valse sentimentale     4:51

MIKHAÌL GLINKA (1804-1857)
Sonate pour alto et piano en ré mineur
  2. I. Allegro moderato     9:34

PAUL HINDEMITH (1895-1963)
Sonate op. 31 no 4 pour alto seul
  3. I. Ausserst lebhaft     3:22
  4. II. wenig     3:54
      Ausdruck : Langsame Viertel
  5. III.Themamit Vanationen:     10:54
      Schnelle Viertel. ma maestoso
ANA SOKOLOVIC (Née en 1968)
  6. Prelude pour alto seul     5:23

JEAN LESAGE (Né en 1958)
  7. Toquade pour alto seul     6:33

MILAN KYMLICKA (1936-2008)
  8. Rubato & Agitato     5:10
      pour alto seul

Sonate pour alto et piano, op. 31, H.335
  9. I. Poco Andante-Moderato     7:54
10. II. Allegro non troppo     8:23

ATMA Classique is distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading
PO Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone +61 (0)3 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile +61 (0)3 9444 6879