ACD2747 Cover

ATMA Classique Logo

Grand Orgue Pierre-Béique
Maison symphonique de Montréal

Camille Saint-Saëns : Le Carnaval des animaux
+ Bach | Widor | Goulet | Dupré | Alain | Vierne

ACD2 2747
• In selecting the program for his first solo recording, Jean-Willy Kunz was naturally drawn to music by composers from his native France including Jehan Alain, Charles-Marie Widor, Marcel Dupré, and Louis Vierne, while a work by Québécois Maxime Goulet provides a contemporary flavor.   These are paired with the great Toccata and Fugue in D minor by J. S. Bach.

• A highlight of this recording is Kunz's transcription of Camille Saint-Saëns' Le Carnaval des animaux, which he first performed in 2014 for the inauguration of the Pierre-Béique organ.   Kunz's transcription demonstrates the organ's ability to render a wide range of orchestral colours and textures.

• The organ at Maison symphonique de Montréal was designed and built for the OSM by the renowned organ builder Casavant in collaboration with architects Diamond Schmitt + Ædifica.   The large scale Opus 3,900 organ boasts 109 registers, 83 stops, 116 ranks and 6,489 pipes, and holds its own in orchestral works.

• Jean-Willy Kunz is the first organist in residence of the Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal.   In addition to playing both with the orchestra and in recital, he sees to the development and showcasing of the OSM's Grand Orgue Pierre-Béique at Maison symphonique de Montréal.

• Kunz studied with Louis Robilliard and Mireille Lagacé, as well as at McGill University, where he earned a doctorate with John Grew.   The recipient of numerous prizes at competitions including the Canadian International Organ Competition, Kunz won third prize and the Richard-Bradshaw Audience Prize in 2011.   In September 2015, he was appointed organ professor at the Conservatoire de musique de Montréal.

Johann Sebastian Bach
  1. Toccata & Fugue in D minor, BWV 565

Charles-Marie Widor
  2. Andante sostenuto [from Organ Symphony No. 9 Op. 70 « Gothic »]
  3. Toccata [from Symphonie No.5 in F minor Op. 42 n°1]

Maxime Goulet
  4. Citius, altius, fortius!

Marcel Dupré
  5. Cortège et Litanie op. 19 n°2 Jehan Alain (1911-1940)
  6. Fantasmagorie

Louis Vierne
  7. Carillon de Westminster Op. 54 No. 6 [from 3rd Suite « Pièces de Fantaisie »]

Camille Saint-Saëns
Le Carnaval des animaux [Transcription by JWK (except Le Cygne by Alexandre Guilmant)]
  8. I. Introduction
  9. II. Marche royale du lion
10. III. Poules et Coqs
11. IV. Hémiones (Animaux véloces)
12. V. Tortues
13. VI. L'Éléphant
14. VII. Kangourous
15. VIII. Aquarium
16. IX. Personnages à longues oreilles
17. X. Le Coucou au fond des bois
18. XI. Volière
19. XII. Pianistes (Organistes)
20. XIII. Fossiles
21. XIV. Le Cygne
22. XV. Final

ATMA Classique is distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading
PO Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone +61 (0)3 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile +61 (0)3 9444 6879