ACD 2733 Cover

ATMA Classique Logo
Orford Six Pianos Vol. 2

Sandra Murray   Claire Ouellet
Mariane Patenaude   Francis Perron
Pamela Reimer   Louis Dominique Roy

ACD2 2733

• Founded in 2006, Orford Six Pianos continues to seduce its audiences with dynamic new arrangements of the classic orchestral repertoire as well as original compositions.

• This unique ensemble regularly presents concerts in Québec and across Canada, and they have been met with great enthusiasm by public and critics alike.

• They take their name from the Orford Arts Centre in Quebec, where they have performed frequently. Other engagements include the Lanaudière Festival, the Festival of the Sound, Music and Beyond Festival in Ottawa, the Lachine Festival of Music, and with the Québec Symphony Orchestra.

Six pianists.   Sometimes soloists, often accompanists, always performers.   This second recording by the Orford Six Pianos ensemble marks the 10th anniversary of a group whose name evokes the French 20th century composers known as “Les Six.”

“Anything rhythmic works well with this lineup — Russian music and symphonic pieces are perfect for pianos,” says ensemble member Mariane Patenaude.   For this album, Olivier Godin, Francis Perron, and Louis Dominique Roy have transcribed works by Prokofiev, Tchaikovsky, and Khachaturian, adapting them for piano sextet.

ARAM KHATCHATOURIAN (1903-1978) Arr. Francis Perron
      Gayaneh. Cinq mouvements tirés des suites orchestrales (1943)
  1. Gopak (SUITE N°3)     2:56
  2. Danse des jeunes filles à la rosé (SUITE N°1)     1:53
  3. Danse des montagnards (SUITE N°1}     2:23
  4. Lezghinka (SUITE N°1)     3:17
  5. Danse du sabre (SUITE N°3)     2:17

SERGUÏ: PROKOFIEV (1891-1953) Arr. Oliver Godin
      Symphonie n°1 en ré majeur, op.25 «Symphonie classique» (l9l7)    14:28
  6. I. Allego     4:10
  7. II. Larghetto     4:22
  8. III. Gavotta: non troppo allepo     1:49
  9. IV. Finale: molto vivace     4:07

PIOTR ILICH TCHAIKOVSKI (1840-1893) Arr. Francis Perron
10. Roméo et Juliette: Ouverture-fantaisie (3eVERSION 1880)     18:35

MODESTE MOUSSORGSKI (1839-1881) Arr. Louis Dominique Roy
11. Une nuit sur le mont Chauve (1867)     10:48

      Mascarade: Suite onhestrale tirée de la musique de scène
      écrite pour la pièce de Lemontov (1944)     16:55
12. I. Valse     4:04
13. II. Nocturne     4.01
14. III. Mazurka     2:32
15. IV. Romance     3.26
16. V. Galop     2.52

ATMA Classique is distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading
PO Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone +61 (0)3 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile +61 (0)3 9444 6879