ACD2 2514 Cover
ATMA Classique Logo

Orchestre Métropolitain du Grand Montréal
Yannick Nézet-Séguin

SACD2 2514

• Yannick Nézet-Séguin is an international phenomenon: August 2008 marks his debut at the Salzburg Festival in Austria, conducting 9 performances of Gounod's Roméo et Juliette, and one of the Mozart C minor Mass, K 427; in September he takes on the position of Music Director of the Rotterdam Philharmonic, replacing Valery Gergiev; the same month he assumes the role of Principal Guest Conductor of the London Philharmonic; in October he takes the Chamber Orchestra of Europe on a 5-concert tour of Spain.   During the 2008-09 season he makes three hugely important US debuts, with The Philadelphia Orchestra in December 08, the Boston Symphony in February 09, and with the Los Angeles Philharmonic in March 09.

• Return engagements this year include Staatskapelle Dresden, Mahler Chamber Orchestra, the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic, Deutsches Symphonie Orchester Berlin, Orchestre National de France, Vienna Symphony, Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Toronto Symphony Orchestra.   As this is written (June 2008), he is leading the Rotterdam Phil on a tour of Japan, Korea and China, including concerts in Shanghai, Beijing, Seoul, Taipei, Yokahama and Tokyo.   Throughout all this, he continues as Artist Director of the Orchestre Métropolitain du Grand Montréal, and will conduct the OM in a full season of concerts in and around Montréal.

• Nézet-Séguin has led the Orchestre Métropolitain du Grand Montréal [Metropolitan Orchestra of Greater Montreal]since 2000, and has built it into a formidable instrument.   This is his tenth recording for ATMA Classique, his seventh leading the OM - the others feature him as accompanist on piano or fortepiano.   Nézet-Séguin has frequently stated that Johanne Goyette, owner and president of ATMA Classique, was the first to show faith in his career, producing his first recordings in 2003.

• ATMA Classique released Nézet-Séguin's recording of the Bruckner Symphony 7 last year, and will record Symphony 8 in 2009.   This year we release Bruckner's final symphony, the beautifully melodic, and unfinished, ninth.

• Produced by Johanne Goyette at the church of Saint-Nom-de-Jésus, Montréal (Québec), with engineer by Anne-Marie Sylvestre, in September 2007.

Anton Bruckner (1824-1896)

Symphonie N° 9 en ré mineur
1. Feierlich, Misterioso     [26:50]
2. Scherzo. Bewegt, lebhaft
    Trio. Schnell     [10:25]
3. Adagio. Langsam, feierlich     [29:46]

SACD, DSD and their logos are trademarks of Sony.

ATMA Classique SuperAudio CDs are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879