ACD 2289 Cover

ATMA Classique Logo


Alain Trudel - trombone
Yannick Nézet-Séguin - piano

ACD2 2289
It has often been said that music is a universal language; it is not, though, universally understood as a mother tongue, it is only universally spoken thus.   So one must always attempt to hear it like something new, not quite familiar - with a tourist's perception.   Let's travel, then, and imagine some interesting encounters, where a German Brahms would understand a French Saint-Saëns as much as a Russian Glière, where a Belgian Jongen would make himself understood to an Austrian Kreisler as much as to a British Elgar, and where a trombonist and a pianist would understand themselves mutually.   The listener, then, will have the creative opportunity to impart these familiar and less familiar sounds with significance while surrendering to the sheer pleasure of their beauty.

Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)
1 Sicilienne op. 78     3.50
      (original pour violoncelle on violon et piano, 1898)

Max Bruch (1838-1920)
2 Romanze op. 85     8:22
      (original pour alto et orchestre, 1911)

Reinhold Gliére (1875-1956)
3 Nocturno op.35 no.10     3.18
      (original pour cor et piano, 1908)
4 Valse triste op.35 no.7     2:43
      (original pour clarinette et piano, 1908)
5 lntemezzo op.35 no.11     2:18
      (original pour car et piano, 1908)
6 Romance op.35 no 6     3.50
      (original pour clarinette et piano, 1908)

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
7 Scherzo “Sonatensatz”     5:31
      (original pour violon et piano, 1853)
      Allegro -Trio

Mourice Ravel (1875-1937)
8 Pièce en forme de Habanera     3:12
      (orignal pour deux pianos, 1895-97)

Fritz Kireisler (1875-1962)
9 Schön Rosmarin     2:02
      (original pour violon et piano, 1910)

Joseph Jongen (1873-1953)
10 Aria et Polonaise op128     7.18
      (pour trombone et piano, 1944)

Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)
11 Le cygne 2:23
      (original pour violoncelie et deux pianos,
      tiré du Cornaval des animaux, 1886)

B. M. Blazewitch
12 Concert Piece No.5     6.01
      (trombone solo, publié en 1939)

Paul Fièvet
13 Légende celtique     2:45
      (pour trombone et piano, Prix de Composition de Ia
      Confédération Musicale de France, 1965)

Edward Elgar (1857-1934)
14 Romance op.62     5:43
      (original pour basson et orchestre, 1909)

Piotr I. Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
15 Valse sentimentale op.51 no.6     2:11
      (pour piano, 1882)

ATMA Classique is distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading
PO Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone +61 (0)3 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile +61 (0)3 9444 6879