ACD 2217 Cover

ATMA Classique Logo

In Stilo Moderno
Frescobaldi á Vivaldi


Francis Colpron - flûtes à bec et Direction artistique
Susie Napper - viole de gambe
Hélèn Plouffe - violon baroque
Eric Milnes - harpsichord

ACD2 2217
"Modern", the term by which historians designate the period of Western history that began in 1600, seems ever more surprising as time passes. The word, of course, originally denoted "that which is contemporary or in the style of the day". Since, however, every generation naturally considers and proclaims itself modern relative to the preceding generation, so, by constantly being associated with artistic expressions that time or fashion makes obsolete - think, for example of the "modern" style of the 1930's - the word has, in our day, lost much of its original sense.

It was, however, vigorous and full of meaning at the dawn of the 17th century, and the artists who made the transition from the Renaissance to the Baroque, arguably one of the most radical transitions in the history of art, were fully aware of the novelty of what they were creating, of their modernity.

In the world of music, and especially in northern Italy, it took barely a few decades for the break with the old polyphony to occur, and for the foundations of a new way of composing to be laid: for the invention of accompanied monody, of the basso continuo, of musical drama and a corollary of all these, the discovery of the expressive power of harmony.

© François Filiatrault, 2001

Translation: Jacques-Andre Houle

      Dario Castello
  1. Sonata duodecima a 3     7:26

      Fancesco Cavalli (16:36)
      La Calisto
  2. Sinfonia     3:51
  3. "Non è maggior placere"     2:51
  4. "Ninfa bella che mormora"     3:21
  5. Passacaglio à 4 (Biagio Marini)     1:21
  6. "Mio foco fatale"     1:51
  7. Sinfonia quarta (Salomone Rossi «Ebreo»)     0:51
  8. Ciacona (Tarquino Merula)     2:30

      Giovanni Battista Buonamente
  9. Sonata sopra Cavaletto Zoppo     4:10

      Girolamo Frescobaldi
10. Toccata prima     3:07

      Arcangelo Corelli
      Concerto grosso opus 6, nº 4 en ré majeur / in D major     (8:45)
11. Adagio - allegro     3:16
12. Adagio     1:44
13. Vivace     1:07
14. Allegro - presto     2:38

      Salomone Rossi «Ebreo»
15. Sonata in diaglo detta la Viena     4:20

      Dario Castello
16. Sonata seconda     5:00

      Salomone Rossi «Ebreo»
17. Sonata settima sopra l'Aria d'un Balletto     2:10

      Antonio Vivaldi
18. Sonata en trio opus 1 nº 12 en ré mineur / in D minor, RV 63     9:45

ATMA Classique is distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading
PO Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone +61 (0)3 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile +61 (0)3 9444 6879